2 Piles of Excellent Please

As a notoriously lazy person, I like to receive free things for very little effort. It makes me almost want to exert myself. So,when  one of my satirical stops launched a competition to receive 3 free signed copies of new detective novels and all they wanted was for entrants to retweet stories, well, I was all over that. Especially as the stories were already in my Twitter feed, so I didn’t have to find them.

The NewsGrind is a satirical online newspaper. It’s updated daily, is very funny and you should be reading it. In fact, I’ll wait while you do that now.

Done? Good. Well, they ran a competition to win 3 signed copies of Nick Brownlee’s novels, Bait, Burn and Machete (available via Amazon). They are set in Mombasa (a region under-represented in fiction) and here’s some knowledge for you:

Nick Brownlee is the author of the acclaimed Jake & Jouma series of Kenya-based crime thrillers. His debut novel Bait introduced the unorthodox crimebusting partnership of ex-cop turned fishing boat skipper Jake Moore, and veteran Mombasa detective Daniel Jouma. The sequel Burn was published in 2009 and the third book in the series, Machete, which sees the two men face their deadliest opponent yet is on sale from July 1.

So that is one pile of excellent. The second is a bit rude and is below the fold.

I found this via Twitter and my RSS feed, the Periodic Table of Swearing is a handy cheat sheet for those time when you are cut up by an idiot, when the ref is clearly blind or when you hit yourself with a hammer during DIY. It’s has all of your swearing needs in a handy table format. Click the pic to make it swell in your browser:

The Swearing Periodic TableSo now you can wow your classmates, teachers, co-workers and boss by being every more descriptive when things go wrong.

Enhanced by Zemanta

  Copyright secured by Digiprove © 2010

Posted on 15 July, 2010, in Books, Generalities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think giving away 3 free books is a great find. Thanks for sharing. I’m off to see if the deal is still available.

    • Hi Shirley – this particular contest has now ended, but there will be others so it’s worth subscribing to their Twitter feed or regularly visiting the site.

  2. The excellent is arriving in bigger piles!! Sunday – daughter won a medal at archery; Monday, had an awesome job interview; Tuesday, the above books arrived and some books I ordered at the library have arrived. Suspect that tomorrow I may find the meaning of life.

    I have simple pleasures.

  3. Ha! I love that paper, but I especially love the periodic table of cussing! 🙂 That will come in handly when I am at a loss for words!!!

  4. What a deal! thank you very much for sharing this information. GREAT PAGE!

  5. Looks like that chart would be great for Golden Sachs with their new no email swearing policy.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 2 Piles of Excellent Please « Place of Stuff -- Topsy.com

