And A Merry Christmas To You, Too

Having seen a number of posts about the season, and having spotted that it’s now the 23rd December (unless you’re in Australia or New

Snowy Day in London

Snowy Day in London

Zealand, in which case it’s 4th July 2015 because of the seasonal shifts and stuff), I think it’s time I wished you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Now, as an atheist, many would say that I shouldn’t be allowed to do  this.  To that, in the spirit of giving, I say “sweaty nutsacks“. Lest we forget, English Christians had a real go at banning Christmas once upon a time.  And it worked for a while and then it came back. So that says something. Probably.  It was something about the Pope and something about wassailing – which sounds great and if you didn’t do it you wanted it banned. I’d personally like to see it revived.  Someone get on to that please.

And yes, I am well aware that there have been more than one virgin births throughout the ages.  And I am also aware that the Winter Solstice predates Christianity by a good margin and sounds like a lot more fun.

But, you know what?  I like Christmas.  I’ve always liked Christmas and the fact that it’s supposed to have some significance to non-Atheists will not stop me liking it.  It’s fun, people are generally happy (or less unhappy) and there are presents and good food and good company.  If you insist on spoiling your Christmas by attending a cold church, then I’m sorry, it’s your own fault – though midnight mass is always a good way to break up the drinking sessions on Christmas Eve.

In closing, have a good Christmas, be safe (don’t worry about Rohypnol, worry about getting blackout drunk), if you do drink too much and you’re lying on your back choking on your own vomit only have one or two more and then switch to shorts for a while and I hope that Santa brings you some great toys.

As Greta Christina says in her Atheist Meme series and I have put here in a loosely related way:

Atheists feel compassion, empathy, and social responsibility as much as anybody. We don’t think those feelings come from God — most of us think they’re part of our evolution as social animals — but we don’t need to believe in God to feel these feelings strongly, and to take them seriously. Pass it on: if we say it enough times to enough people, it may get across

Posted on 23 December, 2009, in Generalities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. My church has heating. 🙂 However we won't be switching it on because it's SUMMER!

    Merry Christmas Ray. 🙂

  2. Have a Merry X-Mas and a Happy New Year, too. You have a very nice blog 😉

  3. Have a large Mass of Christ as well, Ray. I'm turning in now, before midnight for a change and, hopefully, won't wake until morning when I hear the kids excited voices. For some unknown reason this year, they're wired. I'll be happy to take that dead tree out of our living room, though, as its been stuffing me up (sucking it up for the kids).
    My recent post Do you like the look

    • We opted for a fake dead tree this year. Much kinder to the environment(tm).

      Happy WinterSolsticeFestivalChanukahMas to all!

  4. nice blog, Marry Christmas to all from me !

  5. Shouldn't you be pagan to celebrate Christmas? Or have a Christmas tree, at least?
    My recent post Saturday Silliness: Bells!

  6. Merry Christmas, Ray!

    Fake dead tree? How come it's dead when it's fake? Lol 😉
    My recent post Drive failure expected in less than 24 hours. SAVE ALL DATA.

    • I don't want to introduce real death to my house, so I have put fake death in there. It's all to do with quantum mechanics probably. )

      Merry Christmas o.d.

  7. Merry Christmas Ray, and a blogging good year to you as well mate.

    This is about the first year we didn't put a tree or lights up, which means there is nothing to take down 🙂

  8. It's the combined holidays of Christmas and New year that I like. WE Indians also have Pongal (Shankaranthi) to look forward to Mid-January. It's a season of holidays! 🙂
    My recent post The Legalease – Episode 1

  9. Gaston and Marie

    I have an idea.

    It is not necessary for you to be a believer in a divine being for you to celebrate Christmas. Why not consider December 25th in the same light that the church of Rome considered it during the age of Constantine. As you know, Constantine, although professing Christianity for political reasons, was probably more like yourself than not. But, even so, just like Martin Luther King, or Columbus or a US President, the church of Rome at that time simply wanted to put aside a day to honor Christ's birth. No theology needed for that. He was after all at least a great man.

    So, that's what they did. They decided to commemorate or celebrate the birth of Christ on December 25th, knowing full well that about 130 years earlier, Christians guessed that May 20th was the birth date of Jesus. Later that was changed to a guess of April 6th. (The church of Rome, contrary to what many believe, NEVER thought Jesus was born on December 25th. (Even a moron like us Christians can read the scriptures and determine that December 25th wasn't close. However, many secular humanists do consider Christians morons, so we have to be clear that we understand that there isn't any way Christ could have been born on December 25th. As to the Virgin birth, well, I know that secular humanists like to believe man is smart relative to joining egg and sperm in a petri dish. But, God, no way.)

    At any rate, just consider Jesus like Columbus, and get yourself all wrapped up in pretty paper, and celebrate. Christians won't mind.
    My recent post New Article: Elf Sightings: Tales from Ancient Lands

    • I, and most other secularists, know a fair bit about the "reason for the season". How many Christians really do though? Christmas was designed to overtake those pagan rituals which celebrated the rebirth of the sun and to make sure that when we think of the end of the year, we're thinking Babby Jesus and not pagan gods/goddesses and (oddly enough) preparing to plant the fields.

      I prefer to ignore the Jesus bit and skip straight to the enjoying the time with family bit 🙂
      My recent post And A Merry Christmas To You, Too

      • I'm with Ray, any time of year my government gives me a day off from work by saying it's some holiday I'll take it and celebrate with my family by just spending time with them.

        Although, I do like the idea of celebrating the "Festival of the birth of the Unconquered Sun". That just sounds cool and it's way cooler than the same old virgin (likely not even virgin but instead mistranslated meaning "young") birth story that's been borrowed and used to death by just about every main religion out there because they can't come up with anything new.. 😉

        As you can tell, I'm an atheist just like Ray and I can say Merry Christmas, Happy Yule, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Winter Solstice, Merry Kwanzaa, Happy Humanlight, Happy Festivus and probably the dozens upon dozens of others that are celebrated this time of year, many celebrated before Christmas/Christianity was even created.

        As for the real Historical Jesus if he actually existed, they still cannot determined what day his actual birth is or year, it's just all assumptions and the scriptures you can't take with a grain of salt and here's why, it's all been translated through Textual Criticism, working from copies (damaged), from copies (partials), from copies (partials and damaged) and probably thousands of other copies created by actual illiterate peasants of the scriptures passed on over the years, being manipulated to see the beholders preference, add what they wanted and then assembled together over the past 2 thousand years and even then, not all of these expert scholars agree with the final product we call the bible, it's just the best they could do.

        Okay, I'm done ranting, I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season.

        Also, why would anyone in their right mind consider Jesus to be like Columbus. Columbus was a rapist, murderer and turned the natives into slaves. He's an all round swell guy though if you like those type of people you usually find in prisons. 😉
        My recent post Lawsuit Threatened Over Atheist City Councilman

  10. Well i agree with you , Christmas is the time for sharing , giving back and spend quality time with family.I enjoy my christmas , i saw old friends that i would normal see through my busy schedule.
    I hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year when it comes.
    My recent post Save My Marriages E Books

  11. Hi there from Downunder (Sydney – Australia)
    We love your blog and think you are right to raise this important issue. We have been thinking along similar lines here in Sydney. It is good to connect with other psychologists and like-minded thinkers on these issues. Keep up the good work and keep the debate going.
    Cheers Associated Counselling Psychologists Sydney

  12. Merry Christmas to you to. 🙂 Like your blog.
    My recent post Meine Mafia – Das eigene Browsergame erstellen

  13. Merry X-Mas and a Happy New Year…and now time to have some great excitement, spacial y for sports loving persons….the most popular event in the word that takes place annually NFL 2010 is going to b held on south Florida from Feb 7…just book your Superbowl tickets and have fun…it is going to be great………

  14. Coming to this post reminded me of the Christmas party at our place this year.I tell you…it was a rocking blast.All of us had lots of fun and enjoyment together….Rather it can be said that 25december2009 was a memorable eve for all our guests.
    My recent post NEWS: Google says what recession, Q4 09 revenue up

  15. Your blog is awesome! Christmas was the best in my area. OMG London is wonderful in snow….

  16. Merry Christmas to you and hope you had a wonderful holiday!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Place of Stuff » Blog Archive » And A Merry Christmas To You, Too -- Topsy.com

