What Does Lijit Do? (and why is it over there?)

While doing my daily read through Atheist Revolution (read it, lots of things to think about), I spotted vjack’s post about Lijit.  “Oh ho”, thought I, “that looks interesting”.  So I popped over to the site, signed up, grabbed the plugin, installed the widget and removed my normal search bar.  See how much work I do on testing these things?

I haven’t gone into it in any detail yet, but if you need to search the site, you can use Lijit to do it.  So please give it a go and let me know whether you prefer it to the default search.  I notice that it uses Google (and displays Google Ads) so the algorithms and the like are sound.

Posted on 4 March, 2009, in Computer Stuff, Site News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. It sure is cute. Hehe. Me likey.

    • it does look nice, doesn't it 🙂 The main thing is that people need to use it and let me know how it well it works for them. Interestingly, mnutes after installing it I had 2 searches: 1 from me as a test and 2 from Sweden looking for "donkey sex". I'm still the number one place for perverts and people alone and desperate!!

  2. I actually really like it. The UI Design is nice and still holds relevancy with Google. I don't mind the ads either (maybe cause they are everywhere now). The name is legit too haha.

  3. it does look nice, doesn't it 🙂

  4. Thanks Tara, I will. I only "advertise" things I have personally tested so after a while I'll do a proper post.

  5. Donkey sex? Lol. Anyway it works well for me, I like the result better compared to the old search tool.

  6. Just been browsing over the stats – not only are the hairy handed searching for donkey sex, but someone searched for "od". Most, erm, od.

  7. At least it wasn't the Swedes, they prefer a different sort of pastime apparently.

  8. I didn't use it, but I will if you really want me to. I was wondering though why you don't use the Google Search bar as that at least gives you the opportunity to make some cash. I've installed it on some of my blogs and there have been some occasions when it has made me money.

  9. There is an extremely simple and somewhat obvious reply to that. One involves a quick plugin and activation, the other requires me to do things with php files…. And since right now my feed is broken, I'm not convinced that it's a good idea for me to do anything else that smells of danger.

  10. I will have to go back and check, but last I recalled I just added the code to the sidebar via the widget area of the Dashboard.

  11. This is the first time I have heard of it, sounds interesting

  12. Fixed the RSS feed finally. It seems that a rogue commenter decided to put their own HTML code in their comment and it destroyed the feed. Bastard. Anyway,deleted the HTML and then realised that without it the post was just noise so ditched that too. All clear and feeding now.

  13. Hmm interesting search words. Wonder how SEO will work with Donkey Sex.
    It is nice to see some thing other than regular Google search on a site.
    How is it working?

  14. A lijit widget? I like the sound of that 🙂

