Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Because I hold you all in such high regard (*pause, gesture, sincere forehead*) I’m going to come clean about a few things.  Things you need to know about. (*pause, gesture, furrowed brow*).  Some of these things you will have noticed immediately, others you may not have (*look around, meeting everyone’s eye, sincere half-smile*).

My all-knowing dashboard kindly informed me that WordPress 2.7.1 was out and that I had to upgrade.  No problemo, thought I, piece of cake.  The 5 minute install and upgrade instructions are very clear and a complete idiot can follow them and do it all.  Right?  Guys?  Yeah, I got distracted.  Only for a second but it was enough.  I was ssh-ing and moving stuff with panache and then I realised, I had cunningly managed to overwrite the wp-content folder with a fresh one.  This is the folder that contains the theme (and any changes) and all the plugins.  So yeah, I am a true genius.

So there you are, a cautionary tale and all that.  Fortunately, it gave me the opportunity to make a few changes here.  Much of this is in the background, I was able to take out a bunch of plugins that no longer work and update a few others.  I also enabled IntenseDebate and it imported everything very quickly indeed this time – it will only really matter to you if you comment on other blogs that also use it.  SpamKarma2 has been sadly discontinued, so I have gone with the default Akismet.  There are a few other bits of functionality that I’m missing, but I’ll get that sorted.

Finally, and most obviously, you’ll see that I have a smallish (200×200) AdSense ad.  This is not my new money making scheme.  After seeing one of Dominic’s latest posts, I became curious as to what I would see on my own site.  You will, hilariously, see lots of ads for psychics and other snake-oil salesmen.  Here’s the deal, click the ads or don’t – this really is up to you.  I have a day job and everything and it pays well enough that I only need one paying job.  On the other hand, if you do click the ads and go through to these places, you will be making a psychic donate to an openly skeptical site.  As I said, the choice is entirely yours, there are no tip jar or donate buttons here and this was simply to see what comes up.

There may well be other changes and tweaks coming up, but these are the most obvious.

Posted on 11 February, 2009, in Blogging/WordPress, Idiot's Journey, Site News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Sucks to do the whole upgrade thing just to realize what you did with the wp-content folder. i tried the automatic upgrade this time. My blog has been auto upgraded since alpha 4 without incident. I still back up the directory now and then, though – just in case.

    So, why is it that your psychic benefactors look so freaky in their photos that look like they're cut from tabloid ads? And, why do so many of them look like men with wigs?

    • I have considered the auto upgrade option, but I'm unconvinced that my plugins will continue to work if I use it. Then again, I'm less likely to do what happened yesterday!

    • Oh, and the psychics look weird because, well, they are weird 🙂

  2. I would certainly be interested in hearing about how your adsense ad fairs – I have never found it too successful on most of my blogs. However your site does bring up some interesting ads.

    I currently have a psychics one and make money on blogging one showing!

    • There are some fun ads. When I browse from work I get ads in English and German – because the VPN server is in Germany. There have been a few clicks, I doubt I'll get rich doing from the ads, but that's not a problem since this is not a money making blog and I am not a professional blogger.

  3. Think before upgrade because many things will change!

  4. I've just updated to wordpress 2.7.1. No changes or bugs, from the time being.

  5. Ray,

    Just a friendly reminder that I do keep like 3 months worth of backups. 😉

  6. I think it depends on your site's traffic too. My site averages 100 unique visitors daily and Adsense ads have not been doing well. 😦

    • Yeah, having seen the amount I have made so far with Adsense I'm going to avoid turning up to work drunk and insulting my boss for a little while yet.

  7. The adsense code could bring you a couple extra bucks here and there. Good choice for sure. Intense debate is pretty sweet too. I love the new blog plugins.

  8. I once imported the wrong database over the top of an existing one. That sucked. Like an idiot hadn't bothered to back it up. Had to go back 6 days to a previous one that my host kept.

  9. The ad sense code could bring you a couple extra bucks here and there. Good choice for sure. Intense debate is pretty sweet too. I love the new blog plugins.

  10. Hi! I like your article,thanks

