WordPress 2.7

As predicted by me old mucker Mr Corey, I am letting you know that I have now installed WordPress.org 2.7 – this is a major milestone and gives an entirely new look to the dashboard.  Get it here and learn about the install here and the upgrade here.  WordPress.com users were upgraded a few days ago.  Learn more here: http://wordpress.org/development/2008/12/coltrane/

Posted on 11 December, 2008, in Blogging/WordPress, Computer Stuff, Open Source and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I look forward to reading about your adventures but I wanted you to know that there is something malfunctioning with this theme. I do not know it this has to do with 2.7 but it looks like there are placement issues with the sidebar. I am viewing in Flock which is a derivative of Firefox and the side bar information is jumbled up. It looks like there are some kind of graphics overlay the text. Also the text does not seem to format correctly. I just thought you might like to know.
    Andy

    Andy@mlmnetworkmarketinglead´s last blog post..Using Google Search For MLM Network Marketing Leads

    • Thanks Andy. I have viewed this page in Konqueror and in IE6. Konqueror renders the “What’s Been Said” part of the bar correctly, whereas IE6 doesn’t. Since I only really use it to see who responded to various posts, I may just disable the widget for now.

      Ironically, it didn’t work correctly under 2.6 and didn’t show the avatars, but looked all right!

  2. Thanks for the update. It is always nice to have people tell me about updates! Thanks! I hope it will be a good improvement.

  3. I was so scared to upgrade to WordPress 2.7 but now I am so glad I did. The interface is so easy to adapt to how you like to run your blog. Thanks for the post.

  4. I’ve upgraded all of my blogs too and I’m slowly getting used to the new layout. Everything looks good so far though and it seems like a good leap forward.

    Tom Smith´s last blog post..Toto Washlet S400 Bidet

  5. I probably need to get onto this…I have 6 sites running WordPress so I am always a little slow to upgrade…it’s a pain to have to do it often, so I make sure it is worth my time before jumping onboard. This one looks like a goody.

    Simon@Rugby Coaching´s last blog post..Rugby Bleep Test

    • Rather than having 6 sites with 6 different installs, why not use WordPress MU which allows you to have multiple separate blogs off one install?

      Ray´s last blog post..WordPress 2.7

  6. I’ve installed it on most of my blogs, still working my way through the rest, and so far every installation has worked without a hitch. I love it, especially the ‘Sticky’ feature.

    Sire´s last blog post..Does Google Control Your Blog?

    • It really is a great plugin. The ‘membership’ feature where you can hover over the heart and see details of the posters blog is really useful.

  7. Wow, I’m really picking up some good info lately. I just installed KeywordLuv
    and now I”m going to install CommentLuv.
    Thanks a lot, hey I gotta go install my new plugin,Bye for now:o)

    Jerry@How To Make Cash Online´s last blog post..Improve Your Pagerank-Get Free Keyword Anchored Backlinks

  8. Thanks for the heads up, I haven’t been blogging lately and therefore missed this but will still likely wait for 2.7.1 to arrive before updating at this point.

    David @ Internet Marketing Management Strategy´s last blog post..Search Engine Strategies Chicago 2008: Video Search Engine Optimization

  9. The new dashboard is really cool, but I’m still trying to decide whether or not I like the old one better. One thing I do love about the upgrade is that you can upload plug-ins (and probably themes too, although I haven’t checked) directly from the dashboard. I don’t know why this is new, though, and they should’ve had it from the start. Having to unzip plug-ins and themes in to files was too much work; not that it was hard, but it was more intricate than necessary.

  10. Speaking of updating to 2.7, I have a plugin installed that does this automatically, just a couple of clicks.I’ve updated twice now without a hitch.
    Oh and the same goes for plugins just type the name in right at your dashboard and it’s a done deal. One is called “plugin central” and the other is called “wordpress automatic upgrade”. If you Google them you should find them , if not just contact me and I’ll help you out.

    Jerry@How To Make Cash Online´s last blog post..How To Quickly And Easily Build A List Of Subscribers

  11. I upgraded 2 of my sites to WP 2.7…the rest I may wait a little longer. Overall I haven’t noticed anything that jumps out to me as it being better. One of my sites is having plug-in/buggy mysql issues since updating & lots of error messages – i want to figure out the cause of it before causing those same problems on the rest of my wordpress powered sites!

    Chelle@Lose Weight for Free´s last blog post..Juice Recipes For Weight Loss

  12. You rock. World needs more souls like you.

  13. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future. And as a designer, I think you have a pretty nice layout 🙂

  14. Brisbane has a point 🙂 This blog layout is neat 😀
    By the way, do you use the automatic upgrade plugin?
    It is really easy, you don't even need to transfer the zip file thru FTP.

    • Up until the point that I wrecked things slightly, I always trusted the manual install more. Next upgrade I'm going to give the autoupgrade option a run.

  15. I auto upgraded to WordPress 2.7 a while back and it took me quite some time to get used to the new Dashboard interface. Now that some time has passed, I totally love it.
    Note to Ray…check out the auto upgrade, its very easy. also the plugin upgrades are incredibly easy as well

    • Thanks for that – I'm looking at using the auto-upgrade for the next release. Maybe it will help me to not screw up 🙂

