New Plugin – IntenseDebate

As a fan of threaded comments, I decided to try out a new plugin – IntenseDebate.  This plugin allows for threaded comments, reply by email, commenter profiles and reputation points (though I may need to be sold on the value of this last one).  As with all WordPress plugins, the install is a matter of unzipping the file to your plugin folder and then activating it in the plugin section of the dashboard.

The plugin supports WordPress (duh!), Blogger, TypePad and Tmblr with more to come.

UPDATE – I have disabled the plugin.  Indexing the comments was taking too long, Commentluv and KeywordLuv were inactive and it was too much trouble.  This is not to say that there is anything wrong with the plugin – if I had started with IntenseDebate from the beginning, there would not have been any issues, but the wait was just too great.  Don’t let me put you off it – if I were to start a second blog, I would definitely install it.

Posted on 4 December, 2008, in Blogging/WordPress, Computer Stuff, Site News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Yes, I think IntenseDebate also stores the comments in their own server so as to track them. I am definitely uncomfortable with a third-party site keeping track of my comments over a period of time.

    hari´s last blog post..Moral Responsibility for Sale

    • I don’t have a major issue with it per se, my main issue was that it was too slow to import (almost 24 hours) and it seems not to work with at least 2 plugins.

      Now I just have to work out why the gravatars haven’t changed….

  2. Ray, you should be able to clear the Gravatar cache from the admin panel with a button. if not, you can delete them from the cache folder in the plugin’s folder.

    MrCorey´s last blog post..He’s Just the Result of Bad Parenting

  3. I have never used the plugin, but I appreciate the review. I may check it out and see if I can fix it.

    dan@custom plugin´s last blog post..Contact Form Widget

  4. Thanks for the review of the plugin, I’ll check it out.

    Gini´s last blog post..How to Create a Simple Menu Bar in Blogger, No Coding Necessary!

  5. I was wondering whether the comments were stored on your blog or the IntenseDebate server and then injected using javascript?
    The latter would be a major point against using it for me, as well as CommentLuv

    Christian Decker´s last blog post..OdioGo

  6. If I use the IntenseDebate plugin, could I still use KeywordLuv?

    If forced to choose between the two, I think I’d go with the latter. How about you guys?

    • It seemed to lose both KeywordLuv and CommentLuv. I know that Andy Bailey is working on an update to make CommentLuv work work with ID, but don’t know about KeywordLuv. Because of this, and other things, I disabled ID for now.

      Ray´s last blog post..On Successes In Linux

  7. Thank you so much for the review… I will surely check it out.

  8. Thanks for the info on the pulgin. I appreciate it!

  9. Hey Ray… Thank you for writing an article about this new plug-in, which is not only applicable WP (yey!.) Hope you’ll make a review about this when installed.

    • When I’m sure that KeywordLuv and CommentLuv are fully supported (and I’m pretty confident about CommentLuv) I’ll enable it. I think….

  10. Thats good info. Does that work for blog.com?

  11. I’d bet that a few versions down the road that both KeywordLuv & CommentLuv will work fine. Both are very popular plugins, and ID seems to be up and coming too.

    aaron@best baby strollers´s last blog post..Sit and Stand Strollers are the Best Double Baby Strollers

  12. This post is really a must bookmarked for me! Thank you so much. 😀
    Just asking, do you use Aweber? If so, can you provide more information on this? I am subscribed to your rss to check if you are going to post something on Aweber. 🙂

    • I don't know at the moment. I may at some point in the future. Sire is more knowledgeable about Aweber than I am…

  13. Um, Ray, that's spam. For reference, Aweber is an email marketing service.

    Really hating IS myself. I'm having to retype in my information every time I make a comment here.

  14. I didn't know that at all. Huh, I must have confused it with something else. Most odd.

    And I feel your pain over the commenting – when I comment from work I have to sign in as a guest, which is a real pain. The only way around it is to sign up with ID, which is probably the aim. I can't recall seeing a "remember me" check box, so I think I'll have to suggest it to them.

  15. Does the blog we post to need to be around our niche in order to rank higher?

  16. lol. I don't think it's a spam though.
    hahaha…yup! I agree, I have to type mine too. I have made a comment below 'Counter strike…' and now, I still have to write agan =.="

  17. I am totally agree with u that intense debate is the best plugin for bloggers. When i was surfing for best plugin for my blog i found this link also saying that intense debate is better option.
    http://toostep.com/question/which-is-the-best-plg

  18. It’s been quite sometime since I last visited this blog. Look like you have another great post entry again. lol. When are you going to stop posting good stuffs? 😀

  19. I have been following up on this blog for a while and i find it very impressive. I plan to add it to my rss feeds

  20. I have been testing for a week now. See lots of drawbacks like no laguage suport. Too slow to load, and I am still not sure if it is a good choice. Can you explain why you keep it?

    • I don't have any language support problems as this blog is in English so I don't see that side of things. It's not that slow to load, depends what else I am doing. It's an easy way to have threaded comments, which I like as I see the comments pages as conversations.

  21. I think IntenseDebate also stores the comments in their own server so as to track them. I am definitely uncomfortable with a third-party site keeping track of my comments over a period of time.

  22. I'd bet that a few versions down the road that both KeywordLuv & CommentLuv will work fine. Both are very popular plugins, and ID seems to be up and coming too.

  23. Hi,
    Very nice post.I really enjoy the post.word press provides lot of good plug-in.
    Thanks for the sharing.

  1. Pingback: Place of Stuff » Blog Archive » Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

