WordPress 2.6 & Spam Karma 2

It’s been a while since I wrote anything here, but here are two important announcements for anyone running the .org version of WordPress.

WP Logo and Spam Karma 2 Button

Firstly, WordPress 2.6 is now out.  There are, as usual, lots of new things in this release and they ae all listed here.  One thing I noticed is that I have had to add to my .htaccess file because all my previous URLs stopped working.  For example, the URL to this post is http://www.lostaddress.org/2008/07/17/wordpress-26-spam-karma-2/ and under the previous release of WP, the URL would have been http://www.lostaddress.org/index.php/2008/07/17/wordpress-26-spam-karma-2/ – spot the difference?  If you were using a similar method, make sure you check your links!  So download it, install it and check out the changes (and fix things where necessary).

Secondly, the excellent Spam Karma 2 plugin has been sort of discontinued.  The plugin creator and developer, Dr Dave, no longer has enough time to dedicate to the development of the plugin.  Instead, he has opened up a Google Code page and is looking for others to continue the delopment of the project.  If you have the mad skillz and time required, please contact Dr Dave. The plugin is now released under the GPL version 2.

For anyone using the plugin, or planning to use it, all you need to know is that it hasn’t had significant work done to it in quite some time (apart from keeping up with WordPress releases) and it still works as well as ever.  Spam Karma 2 is an excellent anti-spam tool which gives a great alternative to Akismet.  I’ve been using it for ages and have only had to worry about the occasional manual spammer.

So, not terribly exciting, but informative.

Posted on 17 July, 2008, in Blogging/WordPress, Open Source, Site News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. I love wordpress it makes life so much better.

  2. I am not a fan of the post revisions feature in 2.6. It leaves a huge footprint in your db and it’s not a feature I plan on using. There is already a plug-in to turn the feature off.

  3. Thanks for the tip on the permalink problem. I will probably have the same exact problem when I upgrade.

    Louise@Easiest Finger Appetizerss last blog post..Delicious Deviled Egg Recipes from Paula Dean

  4. I haven’t upgraded to WordPress 2.6 yet, and from what I’ve read about it, there is not really a reason to. In fact, some of the features on it are actually troublesome, and I don’t want to have to deal with that!

  5. You should always upgrade – the new versions always contain security updates. The permalink problem was relatively easy to fix, I went to the permalink setting area and changed it to the current permalink. The changes required to .htaccess were shown at the bottom of the page:

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteRule . /index.php [L]

    I applied them and refreshed the blog and all was fixed, including links in posts.

  6. I would recommend upgrading to 2.6, as there will be no more updates whatsoever for the 2.5 series. Its already been stated that 2.6 is the update for 2.5. Keep that in mind. I don’t know about you, but I’d prefer to stay a tad ahead of the hackers out there that want to use your pages to redirect to theirs.

  7. Exactamundo Cunningham! WP does not release seperate security patches, so the only way to keep up to date is to update the whole package. Yes, this means accepting features that you don’t necessarily want, but the alternative is being cracked regularly.

  8. A better way is to stop using WordPress 😉

    haris last blog post..Boxi and Panjo – Modern Art

  9. Well, yes. But if that’s not an option…….

  10. Yeah! stop using wordpress might help.

  11. It is a shame that spam karma 2 is no longer going to be supported. This has been a very valuable tool for wordpress version 2.5. Hopefully, someone can run with it and make it even better:)

  12. dang, i better go check my blogs to make sure thats not happening.. thanks for the heads up.

  13. No probs. I was a bit annoyed but then very happy to see that it’s an easy fix.

  14. Upgrading to the 2.6 was pretty easy for me, though I had a LOT of issues with the plug-ins – most of them I had to go through one by one to see which ones would work – got all kinds of errors I had never heard of before (like redeclare snoopy?) but weeding through the outdated plug-ins helped. I love the new features in 2.6 – especially the theme previews built it.

  15. I haven’t had issues with plugins apart from Digital Fingerprint, so I’m feeling fairly fortunate 🙂

  16. Nice one! Thanks for that, it looks like it’s more fully featured than Digital Fingerprint.

  17. I like it. It looks and acts a lot like some other thing I’ve seen (I think its a feedburner thing), but I like how I can add my unique phrase in the footer and Google Alerts will still find it out on the web for me.

  18. I think it merges a few things together, the auto copyright notice with fingerprint is a lovely touch.

  19. Nice! Thank you so much.

    Daphnas last blog post..New construction

  20. finally they come up with this badly neeeded upgrade… hopefully the hackers cant get into the WP blogs this time :/

  21. I was not aware of this problem. Thanks for pointing that out.

    Olivier @ mindfulness exercisess last blog post..Entrecard news.

  22. I’m so glad there’s an update. It’s been a long time coming. I logged onto my WP account today and noticed a change. Thanks for confirming it! Have a wonderful day!

  23. WordPress is way too complicated which is totally unnecessary if all you want is a blog. Even upgrading it is complicated, why not a simple ‘click here’ to upgrade automatically ? I think WP should be banished to the dustbin of cyberhistory where it belongs !

  24. There are easier ways to upgrade. Unfortunately some themes and plugins either aren’t compatible or haven’t been maintained – or just do odd things!

    Rays last blog post..Sapphire and Steel – UK TV Series

  25. Unfortunately things just keep getting messier for me with these WP upgrades. It took me nearly 8 labor hours to get everything the way I want exactly with this upgrade. Like others are saying “there’s got to be a better way”

    Braxton@Satellite Television’s last blog post..No DISH-Direct TV Merger Soon

  26. I have been seeing a lot of comments like this – fortunately, for me, I haven’t been seeing these problems. The SVN upgrade eases the problems with the download/install but the themes and plugins seem to trip a lot of people up. It’s easy to say “move to another blog platform” but if the other platform doesn’t have the funtionality or there is a lot of custom code in your install, you’re pretty much stuck with WP. Here’s a fun note: 2.6.1 is out!

  27. aw, better check my blogs now. good thing i stumbled on this page.

  28. I’ve always used Askimet

  29. I haven’t upgraded an WP sites to the new.

  30. I would think you would loose some page rank when you change all the urls. Thanks for update on spam karma and that it still works good.

    Jeff@Cheap dsl.´s last blog post..los angeles cheap dsl.

  31. These things just keep getting harder for me with these WordPress upgrades.It takes hours to get everything the way I want exactly with this upgrade. Like others are saying “there’s got to be a better way”

