Scraping

At least, that’s what I think it’s called.  When a blog uses your content on another site.  I keep getting pingbacks from blogs with the following text:

Why I FAILED wrote an interesting post today on Heres a quick
excerptNo Reason At All 6th October 2007, 04:00 pm There is absolutely no reason for
this particular;

The text itself doesn’t really matter.  The bit that seems to be consistent is the part reading “Why I Failed” that’s what told me that this wasn’t legit – multiple pingbacks, multiple blogs.  And the blogs themselves have no content.  Very odd.  Fortunately, Spam Karma 2 by Dr Dave catches them all after a training session and it’s just a matter of marking them a spam manually.  Nothing major, just very annoying.

Posted on 7 October, 2007, in Blogging/WordPress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is the most annoying thing ever, I have received several of those pingbacks, i’m not sure if its some sort of RSS scraper thing but several of the articles I’ve written have been butchered by these things to the point that the new articles make no sense whatsoever but they always make sure to leave a link back.. I’ve received them mostly at my celebrity blogs but other blogs as well.. any thoughts on how to stop this or if it can be stopped?

    Locke@Celebrity News´s last blog post..Anne Hathaway : Wants to be Obama’s babysitter!

