Slackware 12.0 Has Been Released

Hey Slack fans! The awaited release of Slackware 12.0 is upon us. Go to the website and get it.

Read the official announcement. Download the disk(s). If you like proper .iso files and don’t want the hassle of torrenting, look here – I know I did!

Revel in the fact that you run the same OS as Team Awesome!

Posted on 3 July, 2007, in Computer Stuff, Open Source and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I have a secret place I get all of my slackware packages and iso’s, super fast all the time and never gives me problems..

    And while on call this week for work, I should be up plenty late each night and plan on upgrading my personal laptop to Slackware 12.0 via iso’s. I think my original install was 9.0 with a bunch of manual upgrades to keep it up to date, so I decided to start fresh this time around by offloading all my files to my backup server.

  2. Annoyingly, every iso I have d/led has come down corrupt or has burnt corrupt. Ah well, I’ll just have to keep on..

  3. So I loaded Slackware 12.0 onto my IBM T23 laptop and it just doesn’t like it for some reason. Gets a kernel panic on any runlevel I try, even single and trying to pass a init=/bin/bash

    Another thing I don’t like is that if you choose the expert install to select packages, choosing X brings up about a million packages to choose from, mostly fonts and video drivers, what a pain to scroll thru and choose. And even if I chose all of them, seems to me it’ll add close to hundred or so different packages. That’s just crappy to maintain, perhaps I’ll go back to 11.0 and upgrade the packages I need or want to 12.0.

  4. I think that the problem is that X is now modular, which means that instead of having X + a few packages, everything is now seperate. Should make upgrades simpler as you only need to upgrade parts of it rather than all of it, but I can see the initial install being a pain.

    Just burning the DVD now…..

  5. Slack 12 is now installed and I’m configuring away like mad 🙂

  6. So I reloaded and got Slackware 12.0 loaded now. I must have accidentally unchecked a dependency of one of the kernel packages or something. But I’ve opted now to use the XFce desktop for now, with a lot of packages that need to be installed. 🙂

  7. I, too, have 12 loaded. It went very well – I just need to recompile to enable acpi now…

