Back to Basics

I have redownloaded the basics of my favourite theme – Phenom – and will be (very carefully) changing the CSS and adding in extras that I need.

Hopefully this one won’t break :arse:

Posted on 30 March, 2007, in Site News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Wow… Very simple, very nice – I like it! The only thing I might change (obviously you’ll make other changes) is the border-right of the content div and the border-left of the sidebar to be slightler darker to make the difference between them clear. Other than that, it’s looking good! πŸ™‚

    Oh, and the buttons need to be made slightly larger (I’m not sure what they look like on Windows but they’re tiny on Linux :D).

  2. Yeah – the CSS from the old one moves over really well, it was an orange/grey theme rather than blue/grey before.

    I need to make some adjustments to the CSS because some of the elements no longer exist. I also need to enable some of the plugins by recoding things like index.php and comments.php etc (is it just me or is that a crap WordPress or plugin thing – shouldn’t they work together with no recoding required?)

    I’ll also be tweaking other things – but really carefully so if it breaks again I can undo the changes!

  3. Nice to see the rebuild is underway. You inspired me to get back to the theme that I’ve been working on. Since I know nothing of php or wordpress tagging, its been a learning experience. And, I really want to do something that’s not so simple, so its taking some time. Maybe I’ll just hack somebody else’s yet again, as there are already lots of great ideas, like this one.

    Don’t give up.

  4. I think that tweaking the themes is fun, but it’s also very very frustrating πŸ™‚

  5. Now that’s weird! The anti spam plugin, Spam Karma 2, does not work with this theme. Or it doesn’t work at all. Which means I have to use the inferior Akismet.

  6. If you haven’t done so already, I think that there is an upgrade for SK2, which you might need. You could also try BB2, which I’ve had pretty good luck with, for the most part.

  7. I did try the latest SK2, but,although it happily installs, the configuration pages refuse to show. BB2 – forgot that one. I’ll have to grab it.

    Thanks

  8. Nice to see the old look back. This is more like it πŸ™‚

  9. Yeah – I just need to keep it from breaking πŸ™‚

  10. McCorey: You might want to base your theme off Sandbox (http://www.plaintxt.org/themes/sandbox/) – it’s “the theme for themers,” so you may find it easier to build on that than to write your own from scratch πŸ™‚

    I might actually get rid of Akismet and install SK2… Too much spam has not been filtered out lately πŸ˜•

  11. Akismet is really really pissing me off. It keeps dumping stuff in moderation or allowing spam through. I may just turn the whole thing off and set all comments to “in moderation” – it will slow down conversations, but Akismet just isn’t cutting it.

    SK2 is a great plugin and if I can work out why it makes my dashboard go strange and fix it I will put it back on. Dr Dave (the creator) is very helpful for that sort of thing.

  12. Ray, you might want to hack your comments template and do this: How we beat comment spam I’ve been tempted but haven’t gone the extra mile yet.

    J_K9, I’ve played with Sandbox before (as well as most themes that have caught my fancy) and its a neat idea, but, I’ve actually got the basics already hammered out. I just need to learn the CSS that I’ll need. I have been borrowing ideas all along. What I want to do will require 2 loops, so its a self-code. I may release it when done.

  13. That looks interesting – if it can be better than akismet I’ll try it out. Thanks for the tip.

  14. Thank you, McCorey, for that link – I had never heard of that method. It’s simple and effective! The only problem I see is for users of text-based browsers or those who have disabled CSS, because they probably will fill in that field and thus be marked as spam. Nevertheless, these people are the minority and with some minor tweaks this problem could probably be avoided πŸ™‚

    Best of luck to both of you with the theming, by the way πŸ˜‰

  15. MrCorey – it occurs to me that, while an excellent method, I would need access to the backend databases which I don’t have. Bugger.

