Upgrading WordPress via the Shell

Following on from today’s security upgrade announcement, I have come across a blog post which explains how to upgrade WordPress using the shell.

I put this here, because I think it follows on nicely – if you fear the shell (and you shouldn’t), this takes away a lot of the cruft and just gives you the commands…..all 8 of them.

The instructions assume that your web server runs Linux – and if it doesn’t, why not? – but the commands are easily adjustable for Windows. Apart from number 1, you need the Windows shell tools for that. Hope this helps you with your own upgardes. I already did mine πŸ˜†

Posted on 3 March, 2007, in Blogging/WordPress, How To, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I made a mention that it’s better to use rsync to update WordPress after downloading it locally than directly use the remote server to download WordPress.

    Less commands and I feel it’s safer not to run too many commands on the server for people who’re not used to it.

  2. True, but I think that since wget is more prevalent in instructions, new users (and unsure users) would be happier using it then rsync.

  3. Yeah, but personally I’d prefer new users to run fewer commands on the server.

  4. The good thing about having a list of commands is that, hopefully, new users won’t cause too much trouble running them πŸ˜›

    Thanks to both of you for letting me know about the update, by the way. πŸ™‚

  5. Hari should take the credit – he told me first and I just passed it all on

  6. And for crying out loud, you go through and update your plugins to make sure they are compatible with the new version and look what happens.

  7. Ray, I usually never update WP plugins unless absolutely necessary. But it’s surprising to see such errors nonetheless.

  8. And this is why I need to document every little thing I do – I thought it would be a good idea to try some different themes. Then I realised that I have customised this one so heavily that it’s near impossible. Ah well. :britain:

