Merry Eczemas

…to all my many many fans! I hope that you all have a wonderful Christmas and a very Happy New Year.Click here and I’ll catch you all soon.
Ho Ho Ho 😆 🙂 😯

Posted on 24 December, 2006, in Generalities. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Merry Christmas and happy new year, Ray. Enjoy your holidays 😀

  2. Thanks Hari – Seasons Greetings to you and yours. :happy:

  3. An early Chrimbo pressie to myself – Sabayon Linux! I’ve just installed it and am tweaking away like mad.

    Expect a review at some point soon….

  4. Hairy Fishnuts, Ray.

  5. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Better late than never, right? 😉

  6. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too mate. Late is definitely better than never 🙂

  7. Cheers 🙂

    How Sabayon Linux going? I’ve seen screenshots but I have yet to try it out or install it – it *does* look good though.

    On the topic of early Xmas presents to oneself, I installed grsecurity a few days before the 25th – the process is surprisingly simple (and rewarding) and the kernel options are well explained and documented… It was a breeze! Next step: learn how to use PAX 😛

  8. Sabayon didn’t last long – my laptop kept dying (possibly overheating) during updates. It was also a bit crippling – if KDE fails, there’s no easy way to bring up the wireless card. Yes, iwconfig works and I can ping IP addresses, but DNS doesn’t work at all and I couldn’t be bothered to figure it out. This was very unfortunate as it is the only distro I have come across that finds and installs my wireless card (Linksys WPC54Gv2 PCMCIA card) without me doing anything apart from selecting the network and then putting in the WEP ey.

    For now, I’m back to Slack and happier 🙂

  9. Hehe! Good for you 🙂

    I’m not sure whether to leave Ubuntu installed on this desktop or install Slack 11… Hmm – this is a tough one 😉 I love Slack, but I also like how easy to use Ubuntu is (and God knows that I’m a lazy little bugger). Thoughts? :happy:

  10. Tough call. Ubuntu got me to appreciate Gnome. Though I missed the configurability of KDE and Slack and I have come to prefer the lack of wizards in Slack.

    I’d say, if you have time go for Slack, otherwise stick with Ubuntu for a while.

    And have a Happy New Year.

