Lego Star Wars 2: The Original Trilogy

Everyone loves Star Wars, I can say that without fear of contradiction because this is my blog and I’ll just delete any dissenting opinions ๐Ÿ™‚ Equally, everyone loves Lego. Therefore, it goes without saying that everyone loves Lego Star Wars. Right?

Now that the prelims are out of the way and we’re all on the same page, let’s continue. I own a Sony PlayStation 2 and a Nintendo DS Lite. When I can find a game that has been released for both platforms, it is a good thing. So I went out and bought (actually, bought via the internet) the game Lego Star Wars 2: The Original Trilogy.

My criteria for gaming is fairly simple – I want to be entertained and I want to enjoy the game without having to play it religiously every minute of the day until it’s cleared. This game ticks both boxes. The game is aimed at years 3 and over, so it’s quite obvious that parents are supposed to play this too. It has 2 modes: story and freeplay. The story mode follows, relatively closely, the films. The cutscenes are hilarious and well put together. For example, since there are no voices in the game, the cutscenes work with little jokes and mime. In The Empire Strikes Back, the scene in which Darth Vader tells Luke that he is his father is recreated here by Darth showing Luke a polaroid of Darth and Padme.

The gameplay is wonderful with a variety of puzzles of different levels – in some, you can only complete them in freeplay and with a character not from that scene, in others you simply have to “kill” a set number of stormtroopers or AT-ATs. Hours of fun.

Buy this game.

Obligatory screenshots:

lego9.jpg lego8.jpg lego7.jpg

lego6.jpg lego5.jpg lego4.jpg

lego3.jpg lego2.jpg lego1.jpg

All screenshots copyright of LucasArts and available from their site.

LucasArts and the LucasArts logo are registered trademarks of Lucasfilm Ltd. ร‚ยฉ var curDate=new Date(); document.write(curDate.getFullYear())2006 Lucasfilm Entertainment Company Ltd. or Lucasfilm Ltd. & ร‚ยฎ or รขโ€žยข as indicated. All rights reserved. LEGO, the LEGO logo and the Minifigure are trademarks of The LEGO Group. ร‚ยฉ var curDate=new Date(); document.write(curDate.getFullYear())2006 The LEGO Group.Group. ร‚ยฉ var curDate=new Date(); document.write(curDate.getFullYear())2006 The LEGO Group.

Posted on 24 September, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Generalities. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Very nice ๐Ÿ™‚ I can see you’re having a lot of fun! :mrgreen:

  2. Definitely – keeps me busy on the train on the way in!

  3. I know someone who is absolutely nuts about Lego Star Wars! It looks like a really fun game, so fun I actually thought about buying a gaming system just so I can play it.

    Hmmm…

    I wonder how well the PC version will run under WINE…

  4. I wonder how well the PC version will run under WINEรขโ‚ฌยฆ

    Typical Linux geek ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Or if it will run at all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    The only game I do play religiously (one might even say I’m addicted to it ๐Ÿ˜ฏ :lol:) is CS:Source, but that doesn’t work on WINE, so I’m forced to use Windows to play it…

    And the school forces me to use Windows XP (and IE). *grumble*

    Oops.. Were we talking about Star Wars? I can’t stand Star Wars! Never have liked it, never will like it! :mrgreen:

    /me scrams before Ray kicks me

  6. Oi! Yer barred! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Typical Linux geek ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think that’s the first the only one of the best compliments I’ve ever received!

    Thanks, Ray.

  8. Hmm… Why hasn’t my IP been banned yet? :mrgreen: ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Because I am a forgiving god…….

  10. Well, I am not going to forgive you until you post something else ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Yeah, posting, riiiiight. Just a wee bit low on ideas right now.

  12. I've always been a big fan of the physical LEGO sets, and computer games too, but never played a LEGO computer game! Shame on me. Thanks for the article.

  13. Cool shakers ๐Ÿ˜‰

