New Feature Coming Soon

I have been a little bit dissatisfied with the direction this site has taken. I think I’m going to have to fire my writers and hire some new ones.

Although I had originally started with the idea of just randomly posting random stuff and caring little, I have realised that this only sustains both myself and the site so far. So, I have had an idea.

I will continue being a bit random – I doubt anything will change that about me – but I will introduce a wee bit of focus to the site. Over the coming days/weeks/months I will be introducing a sort of crap tutorial section. This will be under the category “Idiot’s Journey” and will be a sub-category of “Open Source“.

The idea behind it is that there is a lot of open source computery stuff I should know how to do, things like using grep and sed correctly, but I have never bothered learning them. I probably did need them, but couldn’t be bothered to learn. Some sort of laziness thing, I think. I will be journaling and cataloguing my attempts to get to grips with them in the hope that someone will find them interesting/helpful/laughable.

This came about in part because of the bits above and in part because I have a stack of books that I rarely refer to. Laziness again.

Sound good?

The effort will be helped by (but not limited to) the following books that I own:

Yes, some of these books are a bit outdated, but the commands and advice in them should still hold true. And they are what I have to hand.

Wish me luck!

Posted on 10 September, 2006, in Site News. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Well, I already read the first book and own the next two, but the rest should make for interesting reading πŸ˜‰

  2. πŸ™‚ It’s really going to be lots of me going “how does that work?” and “oh, so that’s what it does! I can use that for…”

    It’s really something that I should have done a long long time ago, but whacked it on the to-do list instead.

  3. That’s great, Ray!

    Writing tutorials about something you’ve just learnt is the best way, IMHO, of securing that knowledge, and etching it right in. AND there’s the added benefit of it helping others! πŸ˜€

  4. And of course, if I ever need to reference the information, I know just where it is πŸ™‚

    Place of Stuff – Making our stupidity help you

  5. Good idea. A little focus can give you more to write about without sacrificing any of the existing randomness. πŸ˜›

  6. Good to know that randomly choosing a focus is such a good idea! πŸ˜‰

  7. Ò€œPlace of Stuff – Making our stupidity help youÒ€œ

    Haha! You have to make that this blog’s motto πŸ˜€

  8. *cough*

    How’s it going, Ray? I hope everything’s well at your end πŸ™‚

    Now /me is off to play CS:S πŸ˜›

  9. It’s all going very well here. I just seem to find myself with little time:
    work is very busy
    modding 2 forums is taking up time
    approving articles is taking time
    the family seem to need to see me periodically πŸ™‚
    writing articles is taking time
    and finally, I have Lego Star Wars 2 on PS2 and DS Lite and that takes a huuuuge amount of time πŸ˜€

    Otherwise, it’s all marvellous!

  10. Hahaha! Fair enough πŸ˜€

    I’m not much of a Star Wars fan… But I can relate to the rest! πŸ˜€

