Google Browser Sync Fix

I use the Google Browser Sync plugin for Firefox. This plugin allows you to sync your bookmarks and passwords on Firefox with a Google server. I find it invaluable for quickly getting back up and running after a reinstall. And I do a few of those 🙂

Recently, anyone trying to install the plugin will have seen one or both of the following:

  • When hitting “Agree and Install”, nothing happens – no pop up warning, no install, nothing
  • When hitting “Agree and Install”, you are told that the plugin is not available in your country.

Most odd.

When I hit the first problem in the list, I was a little perturbed. All my passwords and bookmarks were available, just not to me. So I searched Google and found the answer. Ironic, no?

Here are the steps taken by me and by others:

Go to Anonymizer.com first of all. You will see an address bar for which you wish to anonymously browse. Put http://toolbar.google.com/firefox/extensions/toolbar/google-browsersync.xpi into the address bar.

And lo! You can download and install the plugin. Hope this helps more than just me.

Posted on 6 August, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Generalities, How To. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’d forgotten about that – it’s about time I give this extension a try. I had to use your Anonymizer solution to do it from home, I’ll let you know how it goes when I try installing it from work tomorrow – our server is in another country 🙂

  2. P.S. It kind of defeats the point of this extension a tad, but if you can’t get it to install, you can always copy your Firefox profile via a USB disk 😉

  3. This is true. I just got fed up downloading my passwords and bookmarks from storage every time I reinstalled. Saves a lot of bother.

  4. Well, I can now confirm that the extension downloads just fine from Switzerland, so if you’re planning a holiday anytime soon & need to get this extension. . .

  5. I can see nothing wrong with going to Switzerland to download a file from the internet. Nothing at all.

  6. Except the plane fare 😛 Hehe!

    The only thing I’d be wary of there is the fact that my stuff is being uploaded to Google’s servers… That is something I am not too fond of! 😀

    Hmm… Dominic, you mentioned just copying your profile.. Where can I find it? And I assume that it does not back up extensions (I use FEBE for that, and for the other stuff at the moment, anyway ;))?

    Thanks 😉

  7. It can back up passwords, cookies and bookmarks – you can also deselect the bits you don’t want to be stored, passwords for instance. It saves a heck of a lot of time when you reinstall firefox or your OS.

    Unfortunately, it doesn’t store extensions – that’d be handy though 🙂

  8. FEBE does all four of them, and more! It’s not as difficult to set up (hehe!), and it stores the files locally so that you can put them onto a removable drive and take it to another PC.. I haven’t had much luck with its bookmarks backup feature, but the other features work very well 😀

  9. I’ll have to look into FEBE – even though I’ve got a workaround for GBS….

