Just, like, stuff, man

Just a really really quick update for you all, especially for my fan base (whoever that person may be) to say this:

I have been on holiday from the internet for a while – that’s why posting is sporadic.  Not sure when the holiday will end, but you’ll know as soon as I do 🙂

When the arch-perfectionist, Patrick Volkerding, finally deems Slack 11 to be ready, I’ll install it and that should give me enough of a kick to post up in earnest (or English, if you prefer).  Right now, a recent kernel upgrade on Ubuntu knocked out my wireless card and I can’t be arsed to fix it.  This wouldn’t happen in Slack.

  • LinuxWorld Expo UK is happening in London in October – if anyone is going to it and wants to say hello, I’ll be there.  Oh yes, I’ll be there.  Hopefully, LinuxQuestions.org will get a stand and equally hopefully, I’ll be one of those who are personing it.
  • I have a Nintendo DS Lite (in black) which I may want to tell you about.  Or not.
  • I’ll maybe say something about installing Slack 11.  Probably just “I have installed it” but I may run into 5 sentences or something.
  • And probably other things as and when I think about them.

So there you go – a clear path for the posting over the next few months.  What other blog can give you rock solid promises like that?

Posted on 19 July, 2006, in Generalities. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. [i]…which I may want to tell you about. Or not.
    I’ll maybe say something about installing Slack 11. Probably just “I have installed it” but I may run into 5 sentences or something.
    And probably other things as and when I think about them.[/i]

    LOL!

    A true socializer 😀

  2. I certainly am 🙂 I just don’t want to get everyone’s hopes up for a full blown review, only to find that I write “I installed it, no surprises. Well done Pat”

    It’s all about managing expectations!

  3. But of course! That way, when you write a 2000 word essay on why you love it, we shall all be flabbergasted! 😀

    IE6? Tut tut :mrgreen: Hehe!

  4. IE6? Tut tut :mrgreen: Hehe!

    You’re just jealous because I have a proper corporate browser 😀

  5. ‘Cos I like Slackware, I have just preordered the Slack 11 DVD Pack – with the pund being so strong instead of costing me $69.95 + $12.00 p+p, it cost me £43.95 in total!

    Which is a bloody good deal IMO. This is the third distro I have purchased – SuSE 9.1, Slackware 10.1 and now Slackware 11.0 – which should give you an idea of how much I like Slackware 🙂

