A Home for Perlmongers

Nope, not a spelling mistake, Perl the programming language.

On my ever expanding to do list, written in red and underlined heavily is the line which reads “learn programming” – a worthy goal, I’m sure you’ll agree. But what language? There are stacks of the bloody things and every single one has a list of reasons to/not to learn them as long as your arm. The problem, as I see it, is that most help sites for these languages are heavily staffed by very experienced programmers and the newbie may be embarrassed or scared to ask the question “I want to learn, I know nothing, where do I start?” Many times you’ll be told to think of a program you would like to use and then write it. Which is pretty unhelpful – you may not have a program in mind or, more likely, what you want to do is so complex that you don’t know where to start.

There are loads and loads of pages on the web and loads of books out there (O’Reilly has a comprehensive selection), but you may just want to have a place to go and discuss things and get help. So, my old mate Drew has started such a site. PerlQuestions (which has been on my links page for ages) is now up and running and accepting members. Drew saw a niche and filled it. The site is set to create a friendly, knowledgeable community centred on the Perl programming language – which is a laudable aim.

Obligatory Links List:

So there you go, neither of us has any reason not to learn Perl!

Posted on 19 July, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. You know, I read that title and thought- hmm.. a home for Perlmongrels.

    *ducks*

    seriously though, it’s great when people see something missing and fix it. Well done.

    I see programming languages like spoken languages- nobody really can tell you which ones to be proficient in, just pick the right one for what you are doing. 🙂

  2. Exactly, on both counts.

  3. Thanks for the plug Ray. Yeah, still kind of slow but I’m patient and never in a rush. Still need to get the Wiki going as well.

    I did happen to get the site mentioned on LXer.com, got a few hundred hits that day, but slowly dying off, but we’ll see.

    At least it’s not just another Linux forum.. 😉

  4. yeah, there are far too many Linux forums – at least you have some originality 😀

  5. I joined there now. I’m not familiar with Perl. I’m quite familiar with PHP though. Hope I can help out when I get some time. 🙂

  6. Good man 🙂 This may be the kick up the arse I need to actually learn it.

  7. I’m getting around to it, keep yer shirt on…

    😉

  8. Well, I became a member a few days ago. So, once I’ve finished learning PHP, I’ll move onto Perl. It should be good fun 😉

    Nice site, Drew! I like the choice of forum – it’s both elegant and minimalistic.

  9. Well, it’s up to 14 members now 🙂

  10. 14 members.. that’s like.. 12 more than I expected.. 😉

  11. Hehe… Drew, how about some coverage on Linux Today? That will generate about 1000 hits. And, depending on the load your server is able to take, you may want to submit the site to Digg – it is tech news, after all 😉 If it reaches the front page, you’re guaranteed over 8000 hits! I got 15000 hits on one article which reached Digg’s front page 😛

  12. IME, Digg isn’t quite as bad as a Slashdotting – but it’s not far off 😉

  13. Hmm.. I was thinking about submitting to other news sites, mainly LWN.net. Not sure about Digg though, I’m sure my server can handle the load but I just wanted to let out a little exposure and let the members gradually find the site as it grows..

  14. perl is the best – go Leeds perlmongers

