Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake)

As recently blogged by me, I installed Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake) to my laptop so that I could get around Fedora issues I was having and have a workable desktop. And here is my trip report.

I installed the latest version, 6.06, and expected to have loads of fun reconfiguring and getting it to work. Depending on your point of view, the fact that it worked entirely out of the box and with no problems is a good or bad thing. Since I am using this as a temporary measure, maybe, I see it as a good thing. I downloaded the .iso file from the site and burned it to disk. Note: when burning, I followed my own advice and burned it at a low speed, no coasters for me! The iso file you download is for a live cd – this means that the entire distro can be run entirely from cd and you don’t have to touch your hard disk. The live cd comes with a very simple to run installer should you wish to install it to disk. Which I did.

I rebooted, it had recognised and configured my video card, my mouse, my network card and my sound card. By now I was feeling a wee bit superfluous. I needed to do nothing – except open the menus to see what was running. My wireless card gave me a few issues, which I got around by installing wireless-tools and related files via synaptic and apt and lo, my wireless card was up and running. Didn’t take long to do either – absolute piece of cake, to be honest. I would definitely recommend this distro to the newbie in your life.

Obligatory screenshot of my desktop:

Microsoft - You mean nothing to us

The wallpaper, by the way, was lifted from the Something Awful forums – it made me laugh. This is the standard Gnome desktop as provided by Ubuntu – if you look closely, you can see that I am running Azureus and Bittornado. Both of which were provided by Synaptic.

Something I found rather cool was the fact that when I plugged in my iPod – to charge it up – I gained a new icon on my desktop and Rhythmbox opened up and imported all my files.

See:

iPod icons and Rythmbox

As a long time KDE user, it pains me to say that Rhythmbox is what Amarok should be – it’s pretty lean, just does what it’s supposed to and has very few useless (useless to me, that is) tools to figure out.

Anyway, trip report completed. I still say that I will install Slackware, and I will, but I think that I may also keep Ubuntu around for a while longer. Interestingly, I don’t have the annoying freezing problem that I had in Fedora – Gmail Manager and GoogleSync are both running happily.

Rhythmbox is a nice application that I recommend to anyone reading this.

Rhytmbox Doing It's Thing

Obviously, you need some links, so feast your eyes on these:

Ubuntu Homepage

J_K9’s “Spiffing Up Ubuntu” Tutorial

The Ubuntu Help Resources

The Rhythmbox Project page (part of the Gnome project)

The wallpaper came from this thread and this post. Thanks goons. Full credit to goon “Operator” is given. The forums have lots of content stolen from them, so always give full credit where it’s due.
As I said, download it and try it out for yourself – you will be pleasantly surprised.

Posted on 10 July, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Distro Reviews, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Yep, it pains me to admit I’ve been impressed with Ubuntu on my laptop, too. Every time I install something, it just works – no configuring necessary.

    Makes you sick, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

  2. Definitely πŸ™‚ As Linux geeks we should revel in having broken systems, but it’s nice when it all just works.

  3. It really bugs me, not having to fix things… There was no meddling with my xorg.conf, no kernel compiling, and no other fun things to fix – just a few commands and a few files to make and it was all up and running 😦

    Let’s hope that Slack 11 isn’t so easy to set up πŸ˜€ Us geeks need our problems to solve.

    Nice review, Ray.

  4. On the plus side, in attempting to install XGL in Ubuntu, I appear to have lost X altogether, so it’s not omnipotent πŸ˜‰

  5. I had that problem too Dominic – I had to revert back to the autosaved xorg.conf. In my case, it’s that the graphics card isn’t supported.

    J_K9 – Slack will be as hard as ever – Patrick wouldn’t let us down like that. πŸ™‚

  6. Dominic – I think you can revert it with a command like ‘metacity –replace’, but check that first, don’t take my word for it πŸ˜‰

    Ray – I thought not πŸ˜€

  7. I’ll give it a try, thanx – if it doesn’t fix really, really easily, I’m going to reinstall, because I quite fancy switching to Xubuntu & I’ve hardly customized anything yet anyway πŸ™‚

    I haven’t used Slack since 9.1 – how’s it doing these days?

  8. You won’t see much of a difference in Slack superficially speaking, the next kernel is likely to be 2.6.15 and Gnome is no longer included. Otherwise, Slack is Slack!

  9. Very interesting posts and well written. Thx for sharing it, keep up the good work..

