The Bumper Book Of World Customs Illustrated Smuggling Guide

Finally, it’s here! Those boffins high at the summit of Mount Google have finally cracked the code and released (where’s my trumpet icon?) Google Earth for Linux.

There are currently 2 versions:

  • Current Stable (Version 3) (Windows/Mac Only, I’m Afraid)
  • Beta (Version 4) (Windows/Mac/Linux)

I saw the story at The Register (direct link to story) and they link to a longer article at Ars Technica.

So, after the long wait and all the moaning, we Linux nerds can now see pictures of the globe. Aren’t we lucky?

Installing is easy:

  1. download the file
  2. cd to the download location
  3. type in chmod +x GoogleEarthLinux.bin
  4. su to root (or use sudo)
  5. type in ./GoogleEarthLinux.bin
  6. sit back and let it install, following any prompts on the gui installer

My laptop is relatively low powered but runs Google Earth easily.  Check the system requirements on the the Google Earth pages and go get it.

Posted on 14 June, 2006, in Computer Stuff, News, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know! It’s brilliant – finally a Linux port! And, the best thing is that – unlike Picasa – Google Earth for Linux does not use Wine at all. The new version is apparently much smoother and has a better feel to it than the old one.. That means one thing – I can’t wait till I get back to my Slackware laptop at home to try it out! 😀

    You may want to check out ArcExplorer as well: click

  2. Interesting bit of software. I agree, the fact that it’s a native client is wonderful, hopefully it means that other Google offerings will also be native – maybe Wine + Picasa is merely a stopgap….

