Got A Treo?

New from the owner of LinuxQuestions comes TreoQuestions!

It’s a new forum for all of us who own the Treo Smartphone. Jeremy gives us a rundown on what got him started on his blog:

Many people have asked where the idea came from. Well, first I have a Treo and really like it. If anyone is looking for a smartphone, I highly recommend you check the Treo out. The passion is there, and for me that’s a critical component. The thing that set me over the top though, was really LinuxWorld Boston, where LQ was in the .org Pavilion. The Platinum Sponsor of the show was none other than PalmSource (promoting their Linux Access Platform). With rumors that Palm may also be working on a Linux platform, it seems clear that Linux is the future platform (or at least one of the platforms) for the Treo.

There’s more information on the blog on the genesis of the site.

Now, I know exactly what you are thinking, “why on earth should I go there, even though it has downloads as well and will no doubt grow, when there are a shed-load of similar sites all over the web?” Well, Mr Smarty Pants, that’s a fair question. And I suppose it deserves an answer, despite my wanting to slap you with a kipper.

Firstly, the site is the second (third) in the xQuestions.org series. This means that you will have a site that will be extremely unlikely to go coporate, won’t censor your opinion but still be well moderated and will also have a very good sense of community. These sites attract knowledgeable, intelligent, good looking people who won’t jump all over your opinion. And if they do the mods will jump all over them.

Secondly, I’m telling you that if you have a Treo and want to join a forum, go there. And if that’s not reason enough, I don’t know what is.

The site is in it’s infancy right now, so now is a great time to join up – you get the chance to offer your opinion on the site itself and on what it should look like. Obviously, jeremy won’t act on every suggestion, but he will read and consider them.
So go now to TreoQuestions.org. And don’t forget your Treo.

Posted on 10 May, 2006, in Computer Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. But I haven’t got a Treo. I’ve got an m505 ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Then you must run out now and get one. It’s the only way I’m afraid.

  3. We had a Treo at my last job for our oncall pager. I wasn’t too impressed to be quite honest. I think it was the 600, the camera quality on it was very poor. As a phone, just didn’t feel right up against my ear and I personally don’t have any reason to have any type of PDA. It’d be a waste of money for me as I wouldn’t use 90% of the features, hell, I rarely use my cell phone now as I absolutely hate talking on the phone.

    I’m so negative.. I know.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Oh, the only thing I did like about it was that I could play Tetris in the movie theater before the movie started to waste time.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. quote: second (third) xQuestions site

    yes… what happened to PQO? the url just points to the programming forum at LQ- such promise, multiple forums (java, c, etc) for individual languages. sigh.

    I guess the people didn’t want it. That’s what jeremy is alluding to when he says he knows it’s a challenge- 2000 users to a handful…

    and I post this here because I can’t get in to post on jeremy’s blog

    poor student here- no treo. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Growing a forum is pretty hard work – take it from me. Hope this works out for Jeremy and doesn’t fizzle out like PQO. Ah well, he’s busy enough with LQ.org… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Drew – I always thought I had no use for a PDA, but then this one syncs offline with my work mailserver so it actually feels useful. Tetris, hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

    Alison – can you not create an account on Jeremy’s blog? Shame about PQO, that could have been a great site, especially since we have a large number of programmers at LQ. Hopefully TreoQuestions will grow to a large enough size to make it as useful and as popular as LQ.

  8. By the way I have no idea what a Treo means… Shoot me ๐Ÿ˜›

  9. Going by the site I think it needs a unique identity. Too much identification with LQ.org will make it difficult for the site in the long run. It would always be in the shadow of LQ.org. Or maybe this might help it grow… Don’t know – but it’s much too similar to LQ.org.

  10. I honestly don’t feel having a dedicated forum for a particular Phone/PDA is necessary. Well, lets just say it’s not going to have the amount of traffic LQ or most other popular forums will have. Most people can’t afford a Treo, let alone a cell phone with service.

    I know, I need to stop being so negative.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. I don’t know about that Drew. When I first got the phone, I went hunting for apps and other help and found a number of quite active sites. Because TQO has the download section, more people will have a reason to stay for the forum. It’s the downloads that will draw them in.

    I think that TQO and LQ are similar enough for comfort and different enough to seperate them. It may be that over time, Jeremy will choose a different colour scheme. But we’ll see.

  12. But.. but.. there’s more programmers than Treo users and PQO went kapoop! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. True, but I think that programmers would tend to stick to tightly knit communities that are already set up (conjecture: I have no idea really) and having a new community start up is difficult. Look how many linux forums there are that have 20 members.

    TQO is a niche forum and so may well suceed where PQO failed.

  14. To be honest.. I don’t have a clue what a Treo is either (I picked up that it’s a smartphone :P)! ๐Ÿ˜€

    But.. but.. thereรขโ‚ฌโ„ขs more programmers than Treo users and PQO went kapoop! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I agree with Drew there – what will make TQO any more successful than PQO? There are far more programmers than there are Treo users, so if PQO failed coming from a background like LQ, I don’t know what will happen to TQO.. Although I hope the best for it!

    I’m not trying to be negative – Drew, I think the word we’re looking for is realistic ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Argh.. I hate IE! I’ve now got 9 windows open, and I had 17 until I went on a bookmarking craze to get rid of a few of them. It’s hard to get the one I’m looking for sometimes ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Firefox refuses to work here, and I really don’t know why.. I set the proxy manually and it still doesn’t work.

    Oh well.. Anyone want to come over here and convince the netadmins to allow Linux/*nix-based platforms on the network? ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. Anyone want to come over here and convince the netadmins to allow Linux/*nix-based platforms on the network?

    With a big stick?

    As I said before, TQO is a niche forum so the competition should be smaller. It can also build on the success of LQ. Jeremy has more backing this time around – LQ built via word of mouth and did it very well – since, now that the web is far more populated, I think it is harder for a forum to get off the ground.

    If it fails (and how do we define failure?) then a lesson will have been learned. Personally, I think PQO may have been a little adventurous as most programmers will, I think, have their own established places to go and having a single forum to cover all programming languages may have been a little too much. Plus, the LQ programmers would tend to stick with LQ as they can also get help with their Linux needs.

  17. I actually agree with Ray. PQO offered nothing different from the thousands of programming communities out there. TQO will be a niche forum — but I still do think it needs a unique identity separate from LQ.

    A niche community can work both ways. It will be interesting to see how it goes.

  18. I didn’t know that such forum is exist. Your article saved me. Thank you for sharing. I have some questions about Palm but could not to ask someone because I didn’t know where I can do it. Thank you again.

