The End of the Network Walkman Saga

Part One

Part Two

Success! Having installed Qemu and KQemu and Windows XP + Service Pack 2, I was having real problems getting the system to recognise my USB device. So, in desperation, I went to the Qemu Forums to get help. Firstly, I searched – I would urge anyone who wants help from a forum to always search first. On any board which offers technical advice the chances are that your problem will have been seen before. There were 2 ways I could have gone with this: either individually download the patches I found there from my searches (linux-2.6.9-qemu-fast.patch, multiple-interfaces.patch, qemu-hchalt.patch, qemu-specialcase-1.patch) and patch my original qemu source directory or I could have redownloaded via the CVS folder and re-installed from scratch. I chose the first option.

Having done this, I reinstalled Windows XP and applied all updates. That was a long job, as ever, but it went fine. Now for the fun part. When you have qemu up and running, press [ctrl]+[alt]+2 and get into the qemu monitor. Once in there, type in info usbhost this will show you the status of your attached devices. Assuming your device is seen, type in usb_add host:xxxx:xxxx (the xxxx:xxxx is the 2x four digit/letter combinations against your device). Before I received help from the forums (in this thread) my device wouldn’t add. After I followed the advice I was given (and because this is Windows, shut down XP and restarted it), the device added and was seen by Windows – note, it takes a good few minutes for it to autodetect the device.

I then redownloaded the Connect software, installed it and hard rebooted Windows. I have to manually add the device each time, but that takes a few seconds. After having tested it many times to get it to work, I know the details off by heart!

So, I can now use my Windows only device under Windows in Linux and I am, as far as I know, not breaking any laws or EULAs because the disk and the licence key are genuine and used only by me.

Obviously, Sony’s refusal to release the software for Linux means that I have to jump through hoops to get my paid for hardware to work and so this does not absolve them from their corporate responsibility, but I am less cross now.

Should anyone else have any similar problems to me, I hope this helps. Thanks to Qemu and to the Qemu Forums.

Posted on 30 April, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. A better solution would be to avoid Sony in the future. After their rootkit scandal, they’ve lost my vote…

  2. I bought this before the rootkit thing took off. On the other hand, I may have spoken too soon. Using the mp3player with Connect and Win XP under Qemu makes the whole thing freeze. That is, if i connect the player before kicking off the software.

    Oh well, I’ll keep playing and see what happens….

  3. You sorted it out in the end.. Nice 😉

    But, within Qemu, are you able to see the files you have on the OS itself? What I mean is, you’re running Qemu on top of Linux.. Is there a way to get Qemu to transfer files over from the native OS to the emulated machine, or can you mount a native folder as a drive on XP, or something like that? I know XP can’t read a Linux filesystem, so even if it were able to ‘see’ it it wouldn’t work..
    Just wondering, in case you have music files on your Linux box which you want to put onto the walkman 🙂

    I’m also avoiding all things Sony. I’ve become the proud owner of a Sharp Zaurus today (it arrived from Canada), so I’m hoping to install OpenZaurus on it soon 😀

  4. This is only a test comment as I’ve migrated your domain to the new server!

    And yeah, I’ve never been a big Sony fan just to stay on topic. 😉

  5. >> I bought this before the rootkit thing took off.

    Ok. 🙂

    I also have a Sony PS2 which I bought a while back but luckily that doesn’t have anything to do with the computer so no compatibility issues… I am a hypocrite ain’t I 😛

  6. I have a PS2 also – I much prefer PSes to the alternatives. Weird, since Sony support Linux on the PS2, you would have thought they’d support it for other things too….

  7. I actually used to love my Sony walkman when I was young and teenage years. Back then we didn’t know PSP 2s and all that other new technology geek stuff. Heck, we didn’t even have or knew about computers. Today though, I think Sony has been lost amongst the noise and competition for sure.

  8. One day in the far future, some brands might recognize Linux as a legitimate platform… but I'm betting even then, a lot of companies (Like Sony) will takes deals from Microsoft or Apple to make their programs exclusive to those platforms. There's no money in Linux.

  9. Well , the view of the passage is totally correct ,your details is really reasonable and you guy give us valuable informative post, I totally agree the standpoint of upstairs. I often surfing on this forum when I m free and I find there are so much good information we can learn in this forum! the-various.com

