The Sony Network Walkman Saga

Those of you who live your lives vicariously through me, will recall that I was having a hell of a time getting my USB Network Walkman to work in Linux. Well I’ve fixed it.

I tried using Wine first of all. It’s free (as in no cost) and looking at the Wine database, I could have it up and running in no time. Well that didn’t work. Next stop was Crossover Office, again, it didn’t work. It just seems that Sony’s SonicStage software doesn’t play nicely with Linux.

My next thought was to install Windows. Yeah, I know, it does seem as though I gave up. Not so, though. I went to the Qemu website and grabbed the latest version of qemu and kqemu. I won’t link to them because the site itself has the latest versions. And I doubt they’d appreciate my thousands of readers hotlinking to the files. Kqemu is an accelerator for qemu – I installed it and the Windows install still went very slowly – I shudder to think what the install would have been like without it.

The install is very straightforward: untar the qemu file, untar the kqemu file and move the kqemu folder inside the qemu folder. Then do the old ./configure && make && make install. It takes around 15 – 20 minutes on my system – your mileage may vary.

I then grabbed my genuine copy of Windows XP (this is important – I said in my other post that I didn’t want to pirate anything and this still holds true), and ran the following command: qemu-img create -f raw ~/images/winxp.img 6000M and qemu -hda images/winxp.img -cdrom /dev/cdrom -boot c and installed XP SP1.

It all went wonderfully. I am now in the process of updating XP to get all the driver updates and service packs and patches and fully expect to be up and running sometime tomorrow.

I said it works, I didn’t say it works fast.

Running /usr/sbin/iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE and /bin/chmod 666 /dev/net/tun means that XP can use my network connection set up under Linux and the firewall allows it through.

I’ll update you when I install SonicStage and get my walkman up and running.

Oh yeah, here’s my XP desktop:

XP on qemu on Slackware Linux

Posted on 17 April, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Emulators!! That…. is…. so…. painful… πŸ˜‰

  2. Ah, so *that’s* what this Kqemu thing I keep hearing about does.

    Might give it a go – Firefox really is *slow* on Qemu on my system. Thanks for the tip!

    Might have a go at installing XP on it, too – We’ve got the install disc somewhere..

  3. It was incredibly easy to install and run. Now I’ve carried out all 43 Windows updates and patches (did this in case a site decides to block me for being unsafe), I can test the usb connectivity. I’m hoping it will pick up and run the player. We’ll see.

  4. When there’s a will, there’s a way.. πŸ˜‰ But does Qemu have an easier method of transferring files over from the native OS to the VM, or is it as much of a pain as VMware Player? Just interested πŸ™‚

  5. If you don’t mind using sftp from within the Qemu environment, it’s dead easy to transfer files πŸ˜‰

  6. I believe that Samba also offers a solution. More reading if that’s what i need to do, it seems!

  7. Well, I’ve got XP SP2 installed & up-to-date via Qemu. It’s a tad slow, but way better than without kqemu.

    Copied my Firefox profile over from Gentoo via Filezilla & sftp, and now I’m tapping this message in with what looks for all the world like Windows XP @ 1280×1024 resolution.

    Most impressive…

