RSS Page

Inspired by online RSS pages I have seen, I have now got a live RSS Page. Go me!

Thanks to Drew for making the bits that didn’t work, work. It had me stumped and frustrated. Having this working page means that I can now check posts on blogs even when I’m not at my home pc. It needs a bit of tweaking, but it looks good.
So, go to my RSS feed page and see what I am reading.

Thanks go to Gregarius, for doing the software and to Sameer D’Costa for creating the Crystal theme. And to Dominic and to Max for suggesting the software – Max actually suggested Gregarius, but Dominic started the ball rolling by suggesting an online RSS feed.

And I think that’s enough link backs for tonight!

Posted on 15 March, 2006, in Blogging/WordPress, Site News. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yeah, the fix was easy. Since I’m migrating these domains to a new server (a real server with real connection), I moved all of the domains to the server I used to host your site and dismantled my main server to rebuild my home server to shuffle some hardware around. I left this machine alone but since it’s now not behind a redirect from my main apache server and is the main server for a short time, this fixed the funky url’s the RSS feed thingymajigger you have going to work more properly.. Though it does seem as if most of the links (URL redirects) aren’t working properly.. πŸ˜‰

  2. That Drew’s an alright guy.

  3. Drew – thanks mate. I saw that some of the links are a little funky, like I said, it needs tweaking! Thanks for doing what you do!

    Charred – he certainly is. πŸ™‚

  4. Aww, shucks, thanks guys!

    Yeah, I should be getting the final pieces together for the new server. Once I get it all up and running, throw it in at the colo and get us moved one night. Hopefully it will be pain free, the only downside is there will be slight downtime as I’ll shut all the domains down, take snapshots of the mysql databases to import them to the new server, bring it all up, make sure it works, then switch DNS to the new machine. depending on your ISP, shouldn’t be that long for the redirect to take affect.

  5. Ray – Looking good (kudos to Drew too πŸ˜‰ )! But the links on the left don’t work.. when’s that tweaking package coming? Hehe..

    Drew, good luck migrating the servers.
    [offtopic] I’ve always wondered how to upgrade a server’s hardware without getting any downtime.. I don’t even know if it’s possible πŸ™‚ [/offtopic]

  6. Yeah, I need to work out why the links don’t work and then fix that……

  7. And now it’s fixed. Let me know if there’s anything else which seems broken.

  8. JK_9,

    The only way to upgrade a servers hardware with minimal downtime is to have two servers running… πŸ˜‰

  9. Lol yeah – I was wondering if there was another way πŸ˜‰

    What did Jeremy do when he upgraded the (original) LQ server? Was the site down for a few hours, or did he just do a ‘server switch’ (changing the DNS) until he had finished upgrading it?

  10. It was a server switch. There is more than just one server that runs LQ. At one time, there was one server, but it was decommissioned some odd years ago.

  11. Right. πŸ™‚ Thought so. I know that sites which receive the amount of hits that LQ does per day have to have several server to work efficiently – but how exactly does that work? Do they work as a cluster, or is it something else?

    πŸ˜€

  12. As far as I know, no actual clustering but I do know that the main two servers he has in Buffalo serve up most of the html content and the other is the DB server. He also has another server that serves up images alone for the site. Not sure about the others, I think most of the others he has do misc things here and there.

  13. Oh ok. That makes sense. That must be a real pain to upgrade though.. Hopefully that won’t have to happen any time soon? πŸ˜‰

