Sony Network Walkman

I have a Sony Network Walkman NW-E505.  I picked it up in Florida (it was cheap) and was attracted by the fact it has an inbuilt radio.  It’s compact and easy to use and sounds ok – I’m not that fussy about sound quality.  As long as it has no noticeable interference I’m not bothered.  My one complaint about the hardware itself is the earpiece cord.  Without using the included extension cord it’s too short; with it, you are left with excess cable that snags on things.

However, I now have a new complaint.  Well, new to me, not to others.  I use Linux.  Yep, I’m one of those hippies who refuses to pay a fortune for my operating system.  Equally, I refuse to pirate it.  And I like Linux.  The NW-E505 does not work natively on Linux.  Which annoys me greatly.  There are a few things one can try, which I will link to at the end of this,  but they are imperfect at the best and a real PITA at the worst.  If they work.

iPods work fine under Linux, as do iRiver products.  But the NW-E505?  Nah.  This means that if I want to use it to play music, I have to use my work machine (we’re a Microsoft shop) which annoys me greatly.  I just want to download music (I expect to pay for it and it’s not expensive) and store my cds on it, is that unreasonable?  So come on Sony, get your finger out and either make it work on Linux or allow someone else to do it for you.  It means I can use the equipment I have paid for and you get to take money off me.  Which sounds like a fair deal to me.

I own a PS2 and like it, I don’t care about the size of the disk since I only use it for short bursts – while on the tube or other dead radio areas.  We know the PS2 runs Linux and it seems to do it with Sony’s blessing.  We know Sony isn’t unaware of Linux and the call for things to work on it.  I don’t even care that the ATRAC format is a weird obfuscated MP3 format, I just want to use my chosen music player with my chosen operating system.  That really isn’t too much to ask for, is it?

The link I promised:

Instructions from the Wine Database 

Slashdot had a link to a project which was aiming to run the NW-xxx under Linux, but I found it by accident and lost it straight afterwards.  Clever me.

Posted on 12 March, 2006, in Computer Stuff, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’ve never really been a big Sony fan myself. Though, I bought Kelley an iPod back in the summer cause she would not leave me alone about wanting one, now she never uses it. I might reclaim it as my own and take it back.. I could use a little music when I’m stuck in our local datacenter working on servers that I can’t get to remotely.

  2. It’s perfect for me, I listen to the radio more than I listen to music, so an ipod would be overkill for me.

  3. the BIG major reason I want an ipod/generic mp3 player is to listen to lectures. On the incredibly long and tedious bus rides.
    There are other reasons too- portable data thingy- presentations etc.
    Music- also for the bus rides
    emergency backup.

    I’m looking at the handy student discount…

    you’re making me drool.

  4. It’s one of those things that I thought I’d never need or want. And now I have one, I don’t want to be without it 🙂

  5. This is one of the best muzik players i have seen! I was using the creative zen nano before.. but now quite recently i moved to NW-E505! Its rocking!

