Placeholder

I have been away on a training course for a week and have been totally AFK.  While I was away, I had no thoughts whatsoever about blogging or other online stuff.  Sorry guys, the internet isn’t my top priority.

I had considered doing a post about the course I was on – the software and the skills learned were great and applying this to my job will make things much easier and more transparent.  But then I realised that this would be of extremely limited interest and I don’t feel happy about using this for advertising things that won’t affect people or be interesting to them.  Basically, if you need the software you’ll know about it, if not, well, you won’t care.

So then I wondered what else to write about.  While having an unstructured blog is great and liberating, it does sometimes make it hard to know what to write about.  I always wonder if I’m just the 6,000th person to write about a news story, or if anyone really cares about what I write.  This internetting thing is hard.

Judging by my visitor stats, barely anyone cares about this stuff, but at the same time I just don’t want to stop doing this.  Does that sound all angsty? It does, doesn’t it?  It’s probably a sign of how great things are going when I whine about something so inconsequential.  But don’t worry, there’s not much more of this stuff to go.

Really, this was just practice to get me back into it all, so please feel free to completely ignore this post and bleach it from your mind.  Ta.

Posted on 26 February, 2006, in Generalities. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Welcome back! 🙂 Getting worried about you a bit! 🙂

  2. Heh 🙂 It’s been a busy old week and now I get to go back to work. Being an adult is fun fun fun 😀

  3. I was wondering where you were! Glad to see you’re back 😉

    I’m still trying to figure out what that app is about though 😀 Something about a management thing..

  4. It’s all about rsource, job and target management – it can tell you (as long as you put in accurate and updated figures) all about when your busy are and will be and can tell you when you have too many/too few people working on particular tasks.

    Having seen it work on the course, it makes a difference to see when you switch from just throwing ideas and resources at random at a problem to properly looking at the visual representations and making informed decisions.

    Basically, my job involves doing most of this type of thing by gut-feel and instinct, this is a way of formalising it. How many times have you said “we’re really busy” but can’t prove it to an outsider? This will give the proof one way or another.

  5. hmm- does this give proof when you aren’t really busy that you are? I would pay big bucks for that. 🙂

    I read your blog- I only visit when the livebookmark has something new in it though- I don’t waste time loading a page to check. 🙂

  6. Nah, only gives proof that you are when you are. Live bookmarks may be overkill for the amount of time I post. I could just send you all a snail mail 🙂

