I'm Not Dead

I just noticed that I haven’t posted for about a week.  So I thought that my loyal reader would want to know that I’m not dead.  Just busy.  What with modding LQ, editing and approving articles and tutorials, working and being a family man (in no particular order), I haven’t had much time to put stuff down here.

What I did find amusing was that in Tehran, the leading newspaper has decided to retaliate to the printing of caricatures of the Prophet Muhammad.  They are running their own cartoon contest in which entries must be of the Holocaust.  Please note: I do not find the Holocaust in any way amusing.  I find the nature of the retaliation amusing.

…the plan was to turn the tables on the assertion that newspapers can print offensive material in the name of freedom of expression.

“The Western papers printed these sacrilegious cartoons on the pretext of freedom of expression, so let’s see if they mean what they say and also print these Holocaust cartoons,” …

I don’t recall ever seeing this sort of thing before and I doubt the cartoons will get printed in the mainstream press.  They will, of course, be all over the internet in a very short time.  Story is here.

Personally, I think the whole thing has been severely mishandled.  Worldwide.  Any newspaper that prints the caricature of Muhammad and doesn’t expect a shitstorm is, frankly, stupid.  Yes, freedom of speech and freedom of the press are enormously important and I would not want that curtailed.  But.  Freedom does not mean “do whatever you want with no repercussions” it means that you should act sensibly and responsibly.  Why would the media want to make 2006 the year of pissing off the muslim world?  These things never end well.

Story about blasphemy laws

Story about the Vatican calling for calm

Now, I don’t like to talk about politics and religion.  It’s very divisive, everyone is right and it just causes needless arguments.  All I’m saying is that we need someone to be sensible and to defuse this whole situation.  And yes, that pun was intended.

Posted on 7 February, 2006, in Blogging/WordPress, Generalities, News. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree totally about the freedom- just because you have the freedom to jump of a roof, doesn’t mean that it’s a good idea. “Why are they complaining? It’s freedom of speech!” – well, they have freedom of speech too! Honestly. You have the freedom of speech to tell your girlfriend she looks big in that, but it might not be great for your relationship…

  2. Exactly. Freedom of speech is like anything else – you have to use it responsibly or it will be used against you or twisted.

  3. Maybe more people need to read my free speech vs. responsible speech essay.

    http://hari.literaryforums.org/2005/10/16/free-speech-versus-responsible-speech/

    😛

