Public Domain

I have just realised how much I don’t read pages I am linked to. I’ve been to The Internet Archive (aka the WayBack Machine) many times, mainly to get older pages of websites. Now I know that the pages can be used for so much more.

The Moving Image Archive has a huge number of public domain films. A large number of these are old black and white movies that you often hope will be shown, but never are. Cary Grant, with his “English” charm and wit is one of my favourite actors. The Moving Image archive has several of his films that are definitely worth watching. Charade with Audrey Hepburn is public domain because of “the failure to put the then required copyright notice in the released print.” Their loss is our gain 🙂

Texts brings together a number of projects to provide public domain textual works. Think Project Gutenberg, but bigger.

Audio gives us public domain audio works (duh). You have internet radio, music labels, speeches and science. Great idea.

Software is “designed to preserve and provide access to all kinds of rare or difficult to find, legally downloadable software titles and background information on those titles.” It’s shareware, freeware, demos and all sorts of things like that.

Education has a store of “educational content including coursework, study guides, exercises, and recorded lectures. It is meant for students, teachers, and self-learners at all levels.” Get reading and researching!

I haven’t been through these in any detail (except the films – I want some of those movies), but the aims are clearly laudable. This sort of thing is what the internet is ideal for. It brings together a source of information and entertainment that you couldn’t easily get otherwise. Go see it.

Posted on 18 December, 2005, in Computer Stuff, Generalities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Interesting – I wonder what possibilities this opens up. Maybe I can cut Charade (one of my favorite movies) and put my head where Audrey’s is. No, that would scare the kids!

  2. intersting, thanks.and also nothing relates to this post at all, i wnat to share on my blog.

  3. And now I have 🙂

  4. Feel free to link to it – the more the merrier 🙂 Nothing relates to this because I haven’t tagged it. Yet.

  5. Really interesting, I think I will link to it too from my blog.

