Bucket O' The Evil That Men Do

The internet makes us lazy.

There, I said it. I am a member of a number of forums and regularly I see people post basic questions that are asked over and over again: “Which Linux Distro Should I Install?”, “Where Can I Get X?”, “What Does Y Do?” Can we blame the schools? I was always taught to do my own research, or at least to show that I had tried to do my own research.

Is it because the internet is always on and always there with an answer or opinion or is it because it’s easier to ask than to look?

Whatever it is, if you want to ask me something, show me you have looked into it yourself, show me you have tried to think first.

Or go to http://www.iamnotyourbloodyresearchassistant.com 🙂

Posted on 28 May, 2005, in Old Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Can we blame the schools?
    Nope.

    Is it because the internet is always on and always there with an answer or opinion or is it because it’s easier to ask than to look?
    Yes – it’s easier to ask than look.

    Or go to http://www.iamnotyourbloodyresearchassistant.com
    Uh.. I just tried that url.

    Anyways, posting a question without doing any research beforehand is a bad practice. It’s just another way of saying “I’m lazy. I need a step by step guide. I don’t wanna use me brain.” But, it’s kinda acceptable for urgent cases. Post a question on a forum, and at the same time do some research.

  2. I really think it is easier to ask than to look. There is so much more info available at our fingertips these days that research actually is a whole new ballgame. some don’t want to play.

