Things that have happened

Well, I’ve had a ….. week this week. Not totally sure about my reaction to it, to be honest. I have now been promoted to Area Lead for the area I work in. I only became a Team leader last August and now I’m an Area Lead. I don’t know what possessed me to apply and then I got it.

It means moving away almost entirely from the technical side of my job and now I’m into the pure managerial side. It’s not been officially announced yet, so I have to keep on with my techie stuff. Ho hum, it’s my own fault for applying I suppose.

On the plus side though, it means I no longer have to be on call and I no longer have to deal with customers. So it’s not all doom and gloom.

On a larger note and to move away from myself, Groklaw/PJ have struck a blow against Maureen O’Gara. I think. It’s being touted as though she has been beaten and her articles have been removed from Linux Business News, but. She is still out there acting as a journalist and people will still print her articles.

So is she really beaten? Unless PJ is planning legal action against Ms O’Gara (and PJ will no doubt keep quiet about that until it happens), the answer must be “no”.

This whole sorry affair, though, brings some things into question. PJ has always protected her privacy. As a blogger I think that is wholly right and appropriate – no one wants people from the internet coming to your house! But she has said she is a journalist. Now, a journalist is someone we, theoretically, trust to give us information. But if we don’t know who is providing the information, should we trust it or it’s source?

I don’t believe PJ has done anything to make us doubt that she is honest and above board, but I do think it’s a legitimate question.

Maybe some legal and/or ethical eagle will have an answer.

Posted on 15 May, 2005, in Old Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Things that have happened.

Comments are closed.

